Anatomy of the Hand

The hand is composed of many small bones called carpals, metacarpals, and phalanges.

The two bones of the lower arm—the radius and the ulna—meet at the hand to form the wrist.

The median and ulnar nerves are the major nerves of the hand, running the length of the arm to transmit electrical impulses to and from the brain to create movement and sensation.